Hyland Hotel
- Also Known As: Wood--Summers House
- Address: 116 S 100 W
The Hyland Hotel is locally significant both historically and architecturally. Though originally built as a private residence in 1916-18, the house was converted into a hotel in 1924. It has contributed to the development of the town by acting as a community center as well as one of the first and longest operating hotels in Monticello (1924-1974). The Hyland Hotel was a central feature of community activities, both as a temporary residence for travelers and business people, and as a meeting place for local residents. The building is architecturally significant as the only remaining example of a substantial Arts and Crafts Bungalow in the area. The building retains its integrity and continues to be an important feature in Monticello. - NRHP Registration Form (June 27, 1994)